First published: 27 Nov 2023
Last updated: 27 Nov 2023

Content written for

Small & medium business
Large organisations & infrastructure

As the Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) is committed to providing cyber security advice that is contemporary, fit for purpose and practical, the Essential Eight Maturity Model (E8MM) is updated annually. In doing so, it is designed to assist organisations in protecting their internet-connected information technology networks against common cyber threats.

Updates to the E8MM are often informed by cyber threat intelligence; feedback received from across government and industry (both domestic and international); insight from penetration tests, Essential Eight implementation assessments and uplift activities; as well as responses to ASD’s annual cyber survey.

Key focus areas for this update have included balancing patching timeframes, increasing adoption of phishing-resistant multifactor authentication, supporting management of cloud services, and performing incident detection and response for internet-facing infrastructure.

View the latest version of the Essential Eight Maturity Model.

Was this information helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!


Tell us why this information was helpful and we’ll work on making more pages like it